Seaccr Final Paper Draft

Finishing the research paper.

The research paper has been interesting to finish so far my biggest problem has been the methodology.  I have had two extremes and it has been yet another moment of learning things I didn’t even know I didn’t know. 

I also need to keep reminding myself that this is about the learning process. I keep thinking I need more data and am concerned because I feel the data is not complete. I have to keep reminding my self that this is about the process of completing the actual paper and learning the process. Reflecting on that so far I have learned a lot of information in a very short time.

Here is what I have so far. I have made some personal notes in sections where they don’t belong for the final paper. This is just how I keep track of my thoughts until I get to the section they belong in. Any feedback is welcome. This is not even close to a finished product but I am hoping for some feedback.

 

Classroom Research Paper Seaccr

 

Abstract

 

Introduction

This purpose of this study is to find effective listening activities for middle to lower elementary classes. Students are required to listen daily in the classroom and with the implementation of the new Common Core Standards students are required to demonstrate their listening skills. Much of the current research is based on Middle school students through college students; also many of the studies are applied to ESL classrooms or foreign language studies. The research data is showing some increase in listening skills using technology based activities that student are engaged in. What are some effective strategies to help increase students listening skills? 

 

Literature Review

 

The background literature focuses on developing the speaking and listening skills of students learning the English language. Ninety percent of Savoonga’s school qualifies as ELL students, which makes these studies relevant to the population I am teaching.  According to Lui (2001)”Tools to support language learning is growing, both from the perspective of a language educator and that of a language learner” (p.3). Four of the five studies used some form of technology mixed with class instruction to help increase these skills. In these studies the results were shown to have a positive effect on the students speaking skills. “A teacher must continuously alter, modify, and present material from a non-traditional approach to keep the learners enthusiastic and on task.” (Cenin, 2007 p.4) The four studies show positive results, when technology is used, in student engagement as well as achievement.  When addressing listening skills Cenin stated, “For listening skills to truly grow, processes need to be made less repetitive and more a part of the students’ environment.” ( 2007 p.18).  The fifth study is a large review on past research using technology to increase students Language Arts skills. “Findings from numerous studies suggested that the use of visual media supported vocabulary acquisition, and reading comprehension, and helped increase achievement scores (Lui, 2001 p.23). Within these studies researched one group looked at 6 studies using online books that were used to promote speaking skills. The studies found “that as the students became more prolific readers, their discussions shifted from dealing with technological difficulties to the content of the books.” (Liu, 2001 p.19) This suggests that those skills can all be used to help increase student skills in listening. All of the sources suggest a positive effect on listening with the use of engaging and contemporary applications of technology. 

 

Methodology

 Research Design 

In this study on strategies for teaching listening and speaking skills, I take a participatory action research approach examining qualitative data while implementing bottom-up listening strategies in lessons to enhance student listening skills. Participants are 3rd  & 5th graders from Hogarth Kingeekuk Memorial School in Savoonga, AK. 

Pre and post student surveys to identify student evaluation of their own listening skills and what they understand listening comprehension to be, will be given at the before interventions begin and again after four weeks.  Surveys will happen here because I want to get an idea of the students’ personal evaluation of their skills and also their understanding of listening comprehension.

Observations will occur in class to determine class participation as the students use strategies and begin to make them part of their listening process. The time and place of observations are chosen to be administered at one-week intervals. Observation notes are completed immediately following the observations, and filed according to the day.  The documents to be analyzed are Student surveys, video observations, and student journals. 

Weekly student journals on the topic of listening comprehension as well as the bottom up strategies will be will be reviewed. Journals will be assessed weekly with the other data and the information collected will be filed according to the day.

 Analysis 

This study’s validity will be check through triangulation of the analysis of multiple sources of data including, observations, student surveys and students journals. I will also have a colleague reviewing the data as another validity check.

 

Results (not sure if I did this section correctly)

         The three forms of data collected were class observations, student surveys, and student journals.

 Observations

         The data I observed in the videos pre-intervention are as follows initial engagement was about ___ seconds. After that engagement was sporadic and many students were engaging in other activities like shoe tying or carpet picking. The post intervention video was

The Data I produced using the surveys is: _70_% of the student knew what listening comprehension was before the activites. _77_% of students understood what listening comprehension is after activites.

When asked how often they are required to listen for information during the school day _0% answered once in a while, 22% some of the time,_0%most of the time and 77% all of the time. After the lessons 88% all of the time, 11%some of the time.

When students were asked; When you listen to directions you understand – 66_% all of them, _22_%most of them, __%very little of them, 11_% none of them.

After the lessons and activites the answers were as follows: 11_% all of them, _66_%most of them, 11%very little of them, 11_% none of them.

The following questions were for teacher information to get an idea of activites and the student comfort level some results were interesting but don’t pertain to the listening activites they were not surveyed again.

Do you like to speak In front of the class 33% said no and 66% said yes. Results were the same after the lessons

Reasons for not liking to speak in front of the class 16% I don’t know what to say, 50% I get nervous, 16%I get embarrassed, 0% I don’t like the attention, 16% I am afraid to mess up

Those that liked to speak in front of the class  gave these reasons for liking it. 66% I like to share what I learned, 16%It makes me feel good, 16% I think I am good at talking to groups, 0% I like it when people listen to me.

When asked if they finished a project would you like to share it 55% said yes and 44% said no.

How would you like to share your project students answered 41% would like to tell the class about it while they show the project, 0% write about it and put it on the wall in the hall, 41% make a video, 16% write about it in a newsletter, 0% use a classmate interview to share the project

The data produced from students’ journals are writings on different topics.

Journal 1: I think I use listening comprehension…( tell me when you think you use it)

Students talked about listening to a family member when they give them orders. Students wrote about listening to the teacher when they were not behaving. (No entries about listening for directions in class or listening to learn things. ( very telling) in discussion)

Journal 2: What helps you remember instructions when you listen while the teacher is talking?

Students’ answers included  I use “active listening” in SFA.( reading program.  This is a reminder we use daily it includes sitting up, facing the teacher, hands and feet quiet, not talking while speaker is talking.) Other answers included I listen to the teacher, (all can be done with no engagement)

Journal 3: How can listing key words help you when you are listening in class?

Students told me how to use this strategy but now how it helps them.

Students told what key words are but not how listing them can help you.

 

Appendix

Listening Survey

 

What is listening comprehension?

  1. Understanding what you read
  2. Understanding what you hear

 

How often do you think you have to listen for information?

  1. Once in a while
  2. Some of the time
  3. Most of the time
  4. All of the time

 

When you listen to directions you understand

  1. All of them
  2. Most of them
  3. Very little of them
  4. None of them

 

Do you like to speak in front of the class?

  1. yes
  2. No

 

IF you do not like to speak in front of the class why don’t you like it?

  1. I don’t know what to say
  2. I get nervous
  3. I get embarrassed
  4. I don’t like the attention
  5. I am afraid to mess up

 

If you do like to speak in front of the class why do you like it?

  1. I like to share what I learned
  2. It makes me feel good
  3. I think I am good at talking t groups
  4. I like it when people listen to me

 

If you finished a project would you like to share it with the class?

  1. Yes
  2. No

 

How would you like to share your project?

  1. Tell the class about it while you show it to them
  2. Write about it and put it on the wall in the hall
  3. Make a video
  4. Write about it in a newsletter
  5. Do an interview with a classmate to talk about it

 

2 thoughts on “Seaccr Final Paper Draft

  1. Courtney – so based on your students’ responses, what will you do. That is – what do the responses mean in terms of your practice? Will you do certain things more or less? That is a very important part of the results…

    Also – I would recommend having someone read over this with you as some of the sentences in the analysis section particularly are kind of unclear. I hope this helps?

Leave a Reply

