SEACCR week 6

What am I finding as I collect data? (Continued)

 

This week as I collect my data I am finding about what I thought. First of all when asked about listening comprehension the students had no idea what that meant or what was expected of them. First of all comprehension was a word I should have traded out for understanding. I forget at time just how explicit I have to be with my students. They were also not able to tell me what listening meant. When discussing the terms. I believe they may know the word but either thought it was a trick question or could not verbalize what they thought it meant which is often times the issue here. The fifth grade class was much the same they too did not understand what listening comprehension meant or what the goal of the activity was. Even after they were told. “I am going to read to you from this book and after we are going to take a clicker quiz about the information you hear and learn about.”

         My video observation was interesting. I read some informational text to them the same way I always do and discuss and ask questions. I even addressed key ideas as I would any other time. When it came time to recall what they heard using a clicker quiz the first question which was from the first part of the story was at 100% retention all students remembered that fact but after that the data showed a slope in the middle and the last question was back up.  This was almost in direct correlation with what I saw on my video. In the first part of the video the students are engaged in the book and pictures. There is slow deterioration throughout the video. The last question was a yes or no question compared to multiple choice and a multiple answer questions. The fact that they showed improvement on that question maybe because a guess is 50/50 or they did actually know the answer.

The fifth grade data showed a different trend. Across the board the students showed no recall of information. The one question 80% of them did get was a true or false question. This data is telling of this class. There are many tier 3 students in this class. When I observed the data there was very little participation from the beginning. I instructed the teacher to do everything she normally would. You here her redirect students and bring them back to the group but within 30 seconds they are gone again. Through information on the WIDA test we know that many of these students comprehend on an average 3 out of 12 science vocabulary words. She has chosen to implement the listening strategies into her science class partly because of this fact.

This data is filed into week one data collection for future use in hopes to “organize data in way that make them easier to work with.”(Rabinowitz, 2013) I want to keep my base line data together.

My nest step is to begin implementing a listening strategy to identify words that you may hear and have the students listen for them or do an action for the key idea. This strategy is in effort to keep the listener engaged in the listening process. I want to begin training students to gather an idea of what they may hear before I give them an independent listening activity. I feel that if I do that I am setting them up for failure.

 

The Community Toolbox. (2013). Collecting and Analyzing Data. Retrieved from

http://ctb.ku.edu/en/tablecontents/chapter37/section5.aspx

 

School Improvement in Maryland. (2013). Analyzing and Using the Data. Retrieved

 from http://mdk12.org/data/progress/ising.html

 

Lewis, D., Madison-Harris, R., Muonede, A., Times, C. (2013) Using Data to Guide

Instruction and Improve Students Learning. Retrieved from http://www.sedl.org/pubs/sedl-letter/v22n02/using-data.html

One thought on “SEACCR week 6

  1. What you have been observing is mirrored in my 5th and 6th grade classes. I was just talking to peer teachers on the same subject. Because of the lack of reading at home, we need to explicitly teach thinking-while-reading strategies. We need to give them plenty of practice at school and be patient with them… this is the main place they are getting practice at reading and thinking in most cases. I’m curious if you will find some strategies that will help with this age group. I’m willing to try anything to help them.

Leave a Reply

