Seaccr week 4

Essential Question:

What data collection methods will I use?

 

When originally designing my data collection method I only had a vague idea of what that may look like. I wanted to use observation as part of it but not sure how to do that effectively.  Online I found a PowerPoint titled Classroom Research Observation. It really helped me gather ideas to be more specific on what I am observing. When you are delivering a lesson you are not able to observe 100 percent of the students as you are multitasking.  I have decided to use video observation as a part of my data collection then I can go back and observe what the students are doing with out distraction. I can also compare videos to see if there is any increase in participation or engaged listening.

            Another form of data is student surveys. These surveys are intended to track the students’ comfort with listening comprehension and to track their understanding of the concept. Questions that will also be in the student survey will track what they think of the technology used and their attitude toward the strategies used.

            Teacher journals will be used to track the methods used and the ideas of the collaborating teacher as well as myself. They will also include any observational feedback in the classroom. Students will occasionally be asked to do short writings on the days activities and write their thoughts. I want to know if they liked the activity, what they learned from the activity, and how comfortable did they feel doing this activity. Depending on the timing I can ask if they are willing to create a listening lesson on Voki. If they choose to create a Voki using their own voice and reading a passage then I can ask things like; How confident do you feel speaking and reading aloud? These types of questions asked through out the research project can give me some idea if they are gaining confidence or if the activities are not helping at all.

            I also found an article printed by The Community Tool Box. It has information on all aspects of data collection and analysis. I am sure it is one of those articles that I will hang on to for a while. I reminded me of the importance of keeping data organized. “Regardless of what method you decide to use, recording should be done concurrent with data collection if possible, or soon afterwards, so that nothing gets lost and memory doesn’t fade.” (Rabinowitz, p. 2013)

             I will gather baseline data from my class as well as a fifth grade class that will be using the same strategies I am. According to the Community Tool Box “Ideally you should collect data for a period of time before you start your program on intervention in order to determine if there are any trends in the data before the onset of and intervention.”(2013) I have data from the WIDA test gathered from our district for the last 3 years as well as observational data the week prior to the interventions being put in place.

 

 

The National Strategies, (2010) Speaking and Listening Assessment Guidelines: levels 1,2, and 3.

Retrieved from: http://www.essexprimaryheads.co.uk/sites/essexprimaryheads.co.uk/files/National%20Strategies%20Levels%2012%20%203.pdf

 

The Community Toolbox. (2013). Collecting and Analyzing Data. Retrieved from

http://ctb.ku.edu/en/tablecontents/chapter37/section5.aspx

 

University of Wisconsin Eau Claire. (2013). Data Collection Methods. Retrieved from

http://people.uwec.edu/piercech/researchmethods/data%20collection%20methods/data%20collection%20methods.htm

Leave a Reply

